Jan 30, 2014

Picture of the Day: the recipients of the President's Award

President Shimon Peres today awarded 8 recipients with the "President's Award".

From the website of the President:
The President’s Award is an award conferred by the President of the State of Israel on individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the State of Israel or to humanity, through their talents, services, or in any other form.
The object of the award is to enable the President of Israel to express his appreciation and esteem to deserving individuals, and at the same time, use this award as a means to motivate others to contribute their talents and efforts for the well-being of the State of Israel and to improve the world.
The President’s Award will be presented to a candidate who meets at least one of the following criteria:
A. A candidate who has made a unique contribution to the State of Israel, or to improving the world, or has made a mark on society in an area relating to his/her activities or achievements.
B. A candidate who has enhanced the prestige of the State of Israel and significantly contributed to its image in the world.
C. A candidate who serves as a model and example in entrepreneurship, innovation, creativity and vision.
The contribution can be in the form of a single deed or ongoing activity. Working alongside the President will be an advisory committee that will present the President with appropriate nominees for the President’s Award.
This years recipients are:
 * Avigdor Kahalani for his courage and leadership in the Yom Kippur War, as well as his contributions to Israel's security and his work on behalf of the soldiers of the IDF
 * Avner Shelo, the Director of Yad VaShem, for working tirelessly to imbue Jewish-Zionist and universal values into Israeli society and the world, specifically in relation to the memory of the Holocaust.
 * Lea Van-Lear, for her work on behalf of the advancement of the Israeli theater.
 * Rav Yitzchak Dovid Grossman, for his work in Israeli society on behalf of youth and children in distress, and advancement of the periphery.
 * Rav Elimelech Firer, director of Ezra UMarpeh, for his work on behalf of assisting sick people.
 * Dr. Tzvi Tavor, for his work  int he fields of science and his quest for finding alternative sources of energy, concentrating on the use of solar energy.
 * Avi Naor, founder of Ohr Yarok, for his work regarding road safety, towards saving lives in traffic accidents.
 * Jack Mahper, for his philanthropic work

At least 1/4 of the recipients of the President's Award, this year, are religious and even Haredi. Does this point to any anti-haredi or anti-religious bias in the upper echelons of government?

Reach thousands of readers with your ad by advertising on Life in Israel


  1. He picked non very non controversial Haredim, that even a big leftist might be able to appreciate.

    IOW, lip service.

    Not one of the recipient's contributions to the well being of the State of Israel was connected to the teaching of Torah.

    'Nuff said.

    1. Rav Grossman's work in Migdal HaEmek and beyond doesn't involve teaching Torah, or strengthening the "well being of the State of Israel"?! That is sheer ignorance on your part. Get informed before you state a public opinion, even if it is anonymous.

  2. I have no doubt in my mind that Rav Grossman's work does involve teaching Torah, and that his life revolves around Torah. Obviously, that strengthens Israel.

    That was not the citation on his award. Such a citation would not be included on an award given out by Shimon Peres.


Related Posts

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...